ABC-NEWS - Residential tower De Helix, Groningen
Earth-coloured brick façade for the St. Peter’s Community Centre
9. February 2021
Residential studios Jan van Foreeststraat, Utrecht
19. August 2021

Residential tower De Helix, Groningen | Netherlands

Owner: Geveke Bouw, Groningen

Architects: De Unie Architecten, Groningen
www.deuniearchitecten.nl

Floor area: 8.112 qm

Quantity: qm brick slips

Facade: Whiite and green glazed

Photography: ABC-Klinkergruppe

70-metre tower De Helix rises above the student city of Groningen |

The 70-metre-high tower functions as Groningen’s urban landmark and shows Groningen’s identity as a student city on the skyline. The building has the shape of a nine-cornered triangle and makes a spiral curve on the inside.
Councillor Roeland van der Schaaf also unveiled the name of the tower, which was chosen in a competition. The name “The Helix” was chosen from 435 entries.
The building, with a total of 222 flats, is located directly on the access road from Bedumerweg to Nordring and includes 116 studios, 96 two-bedroom flats and 10 maisonettes. The 22-storey residential tower was designed by De Unie Architects and built by Geveke Bouw & Ontwikkeling.
The use of the tower by the students themselves plays an important role in the appearance of the building. The residents’ own interpretation of the collective helix enlivens the tower. The fact that the residents open the blinds or not also creates a varied façade appearance.
A parametric design was used to create the façade. Design parameters such as colour, structure and gloss of the ceramic tiles were included in a digital script. In this way, a rhythmic and alternating pattern of ceramic tiles was designed, which reinforces the dynamics of De Helix.
The variously coloured white and green glazed clinker brick slips give the tower a constantly changing appearance with the reflection of daylight and the appearance of light in the evening hours.

ABC-NEWS - Wohnturm De Helix, Groningen
Unsere Bodenkeramik-Serie Smart
29. März 2021
Wohnstudios Jan van Foreeststraat, Utrecht
19. August 2021

Wohnturm De Helix, Groningen | Niederlande

Bauherr: Geveke Bouw, Groningen

Architekten: De Unie Architecten, Groningen
www.deuniearchitecten.nl

Gesamtfläche: 8.112 qm

Menge: qm Klinkerriemchen

Fassade: Weiß und Grün glasiert

Fotografie: ABC-Klinkergruppe

70 Meter Turm De Helix ragt über die Studentenstadt Groningen |

Der 70 Meter hohe Turm fungiert als städtisches Wahrzeichen von Groningen und zeigt die Identität Groningens als Studentenstadt in der Skyline. Das Gebäude hat die Form eines neuneckigen Dreiecks und macht auf der Innenseite eine spiralförmige Kurve.
Stadtrat Roeland van der Schaaf enthüllte auch den Namen des Turms, der im Rahmen eines Wettbewerbs ausgewählt wurde. Aus 435 Einsendungen wurde der Name „The Helix“ ausgewählt.
Das Gebäude mit insgesamt 222 Wohnungen liegt direkt an der Zufahrt vom Bedumerweg zum Nordring und umfasst 116 Studios, 96 Zweizimmerwohnungen und 10 Maisonette-Wohnungen. Der 22-stöckige Wohnturm wurde von De Unie Architecten entworfen und von Geveke Bouw & Ontwikkeling gebaut.
Die Nutzung des Turms durch die Studenten selbst spielt eine wichtige Rolle für das Erscheinungsbild des Gebäudes. Die eigene Interpretation der kollektiven Helix durch die Bewohner belebt den Turm. Auch die Tatsache, dass die Bewohner die Jalousien öffnen oder nicht, schafft ein abwechslungsreiches Fassadenbild.
Für die Gestaltung der Fassade wurde ein parametrischer Entwurf verwendet. Gestaltungsparameter wie Farbe, Struktur und Glanz der Keramikfliesen wurden in ein digitales Skript aufgenommen. Auf diese Weise wurde ein rhythmisches und abwechselndes Muster aus Keramikfliesen entworfen, das die Dynamik von De Helix verstärkt.
Durch die verschieden farblich abgestuften weiß- und grün glasierten Klinkerriemchen erhält der Turm mit der Reflexion des Tageslichts und der Lichterscheinung in den Abendstunden ein ständig wechselndes Aussehen.